Adding a user and granting that user root privileges is one of the many tasks of a system admin. Once a user has been added and granted root privileges they’ll be able to login to your Ubuntu VPS and perform vital functions for the upkeep of the system. Afterward, they’ll be able to use sudo before commands to perform elevated tasks. In this quick tutorial, we’ll show you how to add a new user and grant root permissions.Continue reading “How To Add a User and Grant Root Privileges on Ubuntu 18.04”
When reviewing your servers security, it is critical for businesses to ensure that while building new sections of your website, that we do not leave it unsecured or visible to users while it is being built. With this in mind, there are several ways for you to “lock” a folder or domain while it is being developed. This will safeguard a folder or an entire site using the security feature built into IIS and Plesk called password protection. In today’s article we will see how easy it is to restrict access to a site or a folder.Continue reading “How to Password Protect Folders in IIS and Plesk”
- User Management
- Console Security
- Encrypted LVM
- More security considerations…
What is RBAC?
Kubernetes Role-Based Access Control or the (RBAC) system describes how we define different permission levels of unique, validated users or groups in a cluster. It uses granular permission sets defined within a .yaml file to allow access to specific resources and operations.
Starting with Kubernetes 1.6, RBAC is enabled by default and users start with no permissions, and as such, permissions must be explicitly granted by an admin to a specific service or resource. These policies are crucial for effectively securing your cluster. They permit us to specify what types of actions are allowed, depending on the user’s role and their function within the organization.Continue reading “What is Kubernetes RBAC Authorization”
- Click the “MySQL Databases” icon.
- In the table of databases, locate the database you wish to remove a user from, locate the specific user assigned to that database that you want to remove and click the delete icon.
- Click “Revoke User Privileges from Database” to confirm.
- That’s it! The user has been removed from the database.
- The user hasn’t been deleted … you can see it’s still listed in the list of current users. It has simply been removed from that database.